A quick nod in the direction of our candidate’s chosen vice presidents

For me, it’s the social and civil rights issues that make this election easy for me.  I know that the economy, the deficit, and the like are all pertinent issues when it comes to voting.  However, I firmly believe that everything else takes a back seat to civil rights.  I know it’s easy for the average male voter to see the attack on women’s choice and equality as a secondary issue, because they are only indirectly affected by it, being a non-uterus bearer.  I say, once everyone in this country is treated as an equal, then we can fix the other problems.  We can’t possibly start to solve the problems in the economy, the environment, and the Middle East if we still have disparity with equality at home.  The VP matters when voting.  A vote for Obama is a vote for Biden, and a vote for Romney is a vote for Ryan.

I am in no way saying that Biden (and by extension, Obama) is the perfect politician.  But on the other hand, Obama and Biden have pledged to support me as a human being.  I cannot stand by Romney or Ryan as they have made it clear they do not stand by me.  While Romney may pledge to keep abortion illegal with exceptions for rape and the like, Ryan does not and has says so on several occasions.  Of course, he may compromise for the sake of his running mate, but having a man with a desire for such rigid regulations in office does not spell good news for women, regardless of whom they may have to work with.  Given the opportunity, they could very well pass legislation that would bring their dreams of barefoot and pregnant women in the kitchen to life, and I don’t know about you, but I’m a shitty cook and would like to go outside.

Let’s take a little ride…

Our very own Uncle Biden:

And the notorious Paul Ryan:

[Photos courtesy of the various leftist Facebook pages]

“Aunt Lydia said it was best not to speak unless they asked you a direct question. Try to think of it from their point of view she said, her hands clasped and wrung together, her nervous pleading smile. It isn’t easy for them.”

-Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale

